Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | School Notes | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Hill will play in Senior Bowl

December 11, 2012
By Philip Cmor ( , The Altoona Mirror

UNIVERSITY PARK - Penn State first-team All-Big Ten selection Jordan Hill has accepted an invitation to play in the 64th Senior Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 26.

Kickoff at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala. is at 4 p.m. NFL Network will televise the contest.

Hill will be the 19th Nittany Lion to play in the Senior Bowl in the past nine years. Elected a team defensive co-captain, Hill will be the sixth Penn State defensive lineman to play in the game in the past 10 years.

A 2012 second-team All-American by Athlon Sports, Hill earned first-team All-Big Ten honors by the coaches, media panel, and

Hill was fourth on the team with 64 tackles, second with 4.5 sacks and tied for third with 8.5 tackles for loss this season. The former Steelton-Highspire High School standout also had one interception, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. A two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honoree this season, his tackle total was No. 3 among Big Ten defensive linemen.

SUBHED: Mauti named MVP

UNIVERSITY PARK - Penn State All-American and co-captain Michael Mauti was been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2012 Nittany Lion football team before a crowd of nearly 1,000 at the main ballroom at the Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel Sunday evening.

Mauti was presented the Lions' Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award to highlight the State College Quarterback Club's annual banquet honoring the Nittany Lion football team. Mauti is the fourth linebacker to be selected Penn State's Outstanding Senior Player since the award's inception in 1978, joining All-Americans Shane Conlan (1986), Paul Posluszny (2006) and Dan Connor (2007).

In addition to the player awards, former Nittany Lion All-America linebacker Jack Ham was presented the Alumni Athlete Award.

A trio of awards were presented for the first time:

n Coaches' Award for the senior that exhibits pride, dedication, commitment and exemplary leadership in addition to outstanding performance - linebacker Gerald Hodges and cornerback Stephon Morris.

n Football Letterman's Club Joe and Sue Paterno Post-Graduate Scholarship - long snapper Emery Etter.

n Reid-Robinson Award (outstanding defensive lineman) - defensive tackle Jordan Hill and defensive end Sean Stanley.

The other 2012 State College Quarterback Club award winners were:

n John Bruno, Jr. Memorial Award for the outstanding member of the special - senior running back Derek Day and linebacker Michael Yancich.

n Ridge Riley Award to the senior for "sportsmanship, scholarship, leadership and friendship" - defensive end Pete Massaro and senior quarterback Matt McGloin.

n Richard Maginnis Memorial Award for the outstanding offensive lineman - senior tackle Mike Farrell and senior Matt Stankiewitch.

n Robert B. Mitinger, Jr. Award for the senior who exhibits courage, character and social responsibility - senior running back Michael Zordich.

n Outstanding Run-on Award for the non-scholaraship player who exemplifies total commitment, loyalty, hard work and courage- long snapper Michael Fuhrman and senior tight end J.R. Refice.

n The Nittany Lion Club Academic Achievement Award for the senior with highest GPA was presented to quarterback Shane McGregor (Ebensburg), who has a 3.85 grade point average.

n Quarterback Club Special Awards - Mark Arcidiacono, Joe Baker, P.J. Byers, Cody Castor, Andree Dupree, Jacob Fagnano, Patrick Flanagan, Frank Figueroa, Brian Irvin, Christian Kuntz, Evan Lewis, James Terry, Jamie Van Fleet, Garrett Venuto and Mike Wallace.

SUBHED: Six Lions honored

UNIVERSITY PARK - Five Penn State football student-athletes have been named All-Big Ten as selected by and, while selected Bill O'Brien the Big Ten Coach of the Year and defensive end Deion Barnes (Philadelphia) the conference's Freshman of the Year.

A total of five Nittany Lions were selected to the team and four made the squad. Penn State's five honorees on the squad were second-highest in the conference.

Four Penn State players are on both the and teams: senior defensive tackle Jordan Hill, senior Michael Mauti, sophomore Allen Robinson, and senior center Matt Stankiewitch.

Freshman tight end Kyle Carter was named to the squad.

I am looking for: