Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | School Notes | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Local digest

March 14, 2008
The Altoona Mirror
CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa — Coach Pat Pecora and seven Pitt-Johnstown Mountain Cat wrestlers will travel to the U.S. Cellular Center today and Saturday to compete in the 2008 NCAA Division II National Tournament hosted by Upper Iowa University.

Among them will be Northern Bedford graduate Brandon Reasy, one of three UPJ wrestlers who won an East Regional Tournament championship. Reasy, a senior two-time all-American, claimed the title at 133 pounds.

Other UPJ regional champions include sophomore Kyle Keane, ranked No. 8 in the nation, at 165, and senior Albert Miles, a 2006 all-American currently ranked No. 6, at 174.

Senior Mike Corcetti (184), sophomore Patrick Walsh (197) and senior Zach Majocha (heavyweight) all placed second at the regional tournament, and sophomore Shane Valko (141) placed fourth to advance to the National Tournament.

Wrestling is scheduled to begin today at noon with the first round. Session II will start at 7 p.m. and consist of the second-round championship matches and the first and second rounds of the consolations. On Saturday, wrestling will start at 11 a.m. The championship finals are scheduled for 8 p.m. Saturday.

Mo Valley League stars named

Jordan Cook and Kierstin Elder of co-champion Moshannon Valley headed up the first-team selections as the Moshannon Valley League unveiled its all-star team Wednesday night.

The Damsels shared the league title with Harmony.

Glendale’s Samantha Noel also made the first team.

Sam Yingling of Glendale was the lone boy from a school in the Mirror coverage area to net first-team honors.


FIRST TEAM — Chris Dotts (West Branch), Tyler Ferguson (West Branch), David Kalgren (Curwensville), Cody Rydbom (Harmony), Sam Yingling (Glendale).

HONORABLE MENTION — Brock Kauffman (Glendale), Jeremy Priester (Harmony), Tom Rowley (Moshannon Valley), Joey Schneider (Harmony).

CHAMPION — Harmony.


FIRST TEAM — Jordan Cook (Moshannon Valley), Kierstin Elder (Moshannon Valley), Kari Larson (West Branch), Alyson Leyo (Harmony), Samantha Noel (Glendale).

HONORABLE MENTION — Megan Brink (Harmony), Rebecca Kephart (West Branch), Kierstyn Kruise (Harmony), Jolene Wesesky (West Branch).

CO-CHAMPIONS: Harmony and Moshannon Valley.

Eagle field hockey earns accolade

HUNTINGDON — The Juniata College field hockey team has been presented a 2007 Division III National Academic Team Award by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association, as one of 83 Division III programs to post a team grade points average of 3.00 or higher.

Juniata was one of six teams in the Landmark Conference to be selected for the honor, along with Catholic University, Drew University, Goucher College, Moravian College, and Susquehanna University.

Chiefs recognized

JOHNSTOWN — The Johnstown Chiefs announced Thursday that the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve has recognized the Chiefs’ support of the National Guard and Reserve by accepting them into the Statement of Support Program.

The Statement of Support Program was put together by the ESGR to, ’’inform and educate employers about their rights and responsibilities towards their employees who serve in the National Guard and Reserve.’’

Spikes’ ticket event scheduled

STATE COLLGE — The State College Spikes are holding the third annual Spikes TicketPalooza, set for Saturday, March 29 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at Medlar Field at Lubrano Park.

TicketPalooza marks the first time single-game tickets go on sale to the general public for all 38 Spikes 2008 home games.

I am looking for: