C-K board elects new member

CLAYSBURG — The Claysburg-Kimmel School Board elected a new member Wednesday evening to replace former board member Jonathan Burkett.

Mandi Daugherty, who was not present at the board meeting, will fill the vacant seat beginning Feb. 7 until December 2019. Two other candidates, Amy Clar-Gill and Jeff Dugan, had been recommended for the position.

Daugherty received votes from board members Cathy Barnes, Roger Knisely, Heidi Kennedy and Richard Gergely. Clar-Gill received votes from Mona Eckley, Geri Mock and Shelda Repko. Dugan received one vote from board member Craig Burket.

Burkett resigned from the school board Jan. 1 because of his new position as a Kimmel Township supervisor.