Achievement Award winner announced

The chairman of the board of Thompson Pharmacy has been selected as the recipient of the Blair County Chamber of Commerce 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award for Business Excellence.

William D. Thompson Jr., (known by many as Bill Sr.) will receive the award at the Business Excellence Dinner June 9 at The Casino at Lakemont Park.

The selection committee had a difficult time because there were a large number of quality nominees for the award, Chamber president and CEO Joe Hurd said.

“Bill stood out because he has been the guy who has overseen a tremendous amount of growth at Thompson Pharmacy and also is a very philanthropic person in the community. Even though business excellence is the main criteria for the award, community involvement and impact as a business leader in a community like ours weighs pretty heavily as well,” Hurd said.

Thompson will be the 13th award recipient since Ernie Wissinger received the first in 2002. Other winners have been G. William Ward (2003), Stephen Sheetz (2004), Donald Devorris (2005), Willard Campbell (2006), John Wolf (2007), Lee Hite (2008), Donald Detwiler (2009), Michael McLanahan (2010), Barry Smith (2011), Fred Imler (2012) and Ben Stapelfeld (2013).

“I am very honored. To be included in that group makes me feel good. I am not sure I am worthy of being in that group,” Thompson said.

Mirror Staff Writer Walt Frank is at 946-7467.