On campus

Student receives RIT Presidential Scholarship

ROCHESTER, N.Y. — Nick Rasmussen of Hollidaysburg has received an RIT Presidential Scholarship.

He has enrolled for the 2017-18 academic year at Rochester Institute of Technology.

Rasmussen is in the game design and development/BS program in RIT’s B. Thomas Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences.

He is the son of David Rasmussen and Anna Marie Rasmussen and a 2017 graduate of Bishop Guilfoyle Catholic High School, Altoona.

Electric coooperative assists ACM students

EVERETT — The Bedford County Regional Education Foundation for the Bedford County Campus of Allegany College of Maryland has announced that seven area high school students received Bedford Rural Electric Cooperative Inc., Earl College Tuition Assistance Program grants for study in the spring 2017 semester.

They are: Brianna Greenawalt, Lydia Grimes and Katie Wertz, all seniors at Bedford Area High School; Brooke Miller, a junior at Chestnut Ridge High School; Tristen White, a senior at Everett Area High School; and Noah Hudson and Levi Price, both enrolled in homeschooling.

Greenawalt, of Everett, is the daughter of Troy and Michele Greenawalt.

Grimes, of Bedford, is the daughter of Mark Grimes.

Hudson, of New Paris, is the son of Scott and Denise Hudson.

Miller, of Schellsburg, is the daughter of Scott and Kelly Miller.

Price, of New Paris, is the son of Melody and David Price.

Wertz, of Manns Choice, is the daughter of Troy and Julie Wertz.

White, of Everett, is the son of Robert and Catherine White.

Area students receive scholarships from ACM

CUMBERLAND, Md. — Thirteen tristate-area residents were among recipients of scholarships for study at Allegany College of Maryland in the 2016-17 academic year, the ACM Foundation announced.

Local winners are as follows:

n Kayla Kimmel of Clearville was awarded a Belt Construction Group Scholarship. A physical therapist assistant major, she is a 2016 graduate of Everett Area High School. She is the daughter of Tina and Patrick Kimmell.

n Taylor Showalter of Everett was awarded the Dr. Cynthia Bambara Scholarship.

A licensed practical nurse at UPMC Altoona, she is pursuing an associate degree in nursing at ACM’s Bedford County Campus in order to become a registered nurse. A 2010 graduate of Northern Bedford County High School, she is the daughter of Keith and Penny Showalter.

n Kelly Yingling of Roaring Spring was awarded the Occupational Therapy Assistant Scholarship. An OTA major, she is a 2014 graduate of Northern Bedford County High School. She is the daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth Yingling.

n Brett Zembower of Bedford received the Jacob Paul David Watters Memorial Scholarship. He is majoring in automotive technology.

A 2015 graduate of Bedford Area High School, he has worked at Bedford Ford-Lincoln. He is the son of Keven and Dawn Zembower.