NAACP to hold Freedom Fund dinner

DUNCANSVILLE – The Blair County Chapter of the Nation Association for the Advancement of Colored People will hold its annual Freedom Fund dinner at 6 p.m. Saturday at The Calvin House.

The keynote speaker will be Candi Castleberry Singleton, the chief inclusion and diversity officer at UPMC, a $10 billion, 20-hospital global health enterprise. She oversees employee engagement and community initiatives involvement.

Recently, Savoy magazine named Castleberry Singleton one of the 100 Most Influential Blacks in Corporate America and Diversity Woman magazine named her as one its Top 50 Diversity Champions.

Dinner is a choice of stuffed chicken breast, orange roughy or vegetarian. Tickets are $40 per person or $320 per table of eight. Reservations must be made by Tuesday by calling 942-1126 or 944-5390.

“We would like to thank our corporate sponsors and the wonderful people of Blair County for their support,” said Don Witherspoon, president of the Blair County Chapter of NAACP.

The chapter will be presenting the following awards and scholarships at the dinner:

Humanitarian Award – Lori Bechtel-Wherry, sponsored by Reliance Bank and the Altoona Curve.

Community Service Award – Allan Robison, sponsored by Cracker Barrel and Little Caesar’s.

Golfer of the Year Award – Wally Clapper, sponsored by Tom Koehle Iron Masters Golf Pro and ProCare.

Johnny Moore Outstanding Basketball Player of the Year Award – Manny Span, sponsored by Blair County NAACP and Thomas Dickey Law Office.

Blair County Freshman Basketball Player of the Year Award – Lili Benzel, sponsored by Best Way Pizza, Benzel’s Bakery and Pizza Hut.

Coquese Washington Basketball Player of the Year Award – Darby Lee, sponsored by Copy Rite, Wendy’s and Irwin Financial Group.

Recognition of the 2014 National Champion U18 Mid-State Mustangs Hockey Team, sponsored by Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Operation Our Town and Hippo, Fleming and Pertile Law Offices.

Welcome to the new mayor of Altoona – Matt Pacifico, sponsored by UPMC Altoona, Pacifico’s Bakery and NPC Inc., Claysburg.

Welcome to new Blair County Judge – Wade Kagarise, sponsored by The Summit Tennis & Athletic Club and General Cable.

Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship – Tyrone Area High School’s James Oliver, sponsored by McDonalds, JC Penney and Guy Landolfi.

President Barack Obama Scholarship – Hollidaysburg Area High School’s Morgan Jennings, sponsored by DelGrosso Foods, KFC and Coldwell Banker.

Rosa Parks Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s McKenzie Madden, sponsored by Doug Madden Contracting and DeGol Carpeting.

Dr. Daniel Hale Williams Scholarship – Hollidaysburg Area High School’s Marisa Ewing, sponsored by Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Keller Engineers.

Thurgood Marshall Scholarship – Bishop Guilfoyle High School’s Nick Little, Sponsored by Burgmeier’s Hauling and Wal-Mart Distribution Center of Bedford.

W.E.B. Dubois Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Dennis Wilt, sponsored by Pal Mino’s Pizza and Courtesy Motors.

Frederick Douglas Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Shavar Jackson, sponsored by Navaco Industries and Dean Patterson.

Harriett Tubman Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Courtney Chamberlain, sponsored by Prime Sirloin Buffet and East Freedom Walmart.

Julian Bond Scholarship – Tyrone Area High School’s Terel Albright, sponsored by US Foods and DiAndrea Media.

Nelson Mandela Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Manny Span, sponsored by Pepsi Cola Bottling and Altoona First Savings Bank.

Maya Angelou Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Blanca Gates, sponsored by Sam’s Club and Altoona Walmart.

Sojourner Truth Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Chelsea Keller, sponsored by Sheetz Inc., M&T Bank of Altoona and Quality Awards.

Mary McLeod Bethune Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Sierra Reighard, sponsored by First Commonwealth Bank and Peoples Natural Gas Co.

Barbara Jordan Scholarship – Altoona Area High School’s Zakira Clark, sponsored by HealthSouth and the Altoona Mirror.

Recognition of the winners of the ” Who Wants To Be A Millionaire Of Black History” TV Show Contest, sponsored by Altoona Area High School, Blair County Community Action Agency and The Port Foundation. Contest winners include Candace Outten, Kayla Rosas, Jack Supenia, Kharizma Thompkins, KeShauna Franklin, Shavar Jackson, David Simmons, Brandon Metzgar, Manny Span and Jermaine Samuel.

Recognition of the Bishop Guilfoyle girls’ basketball team, which advanced to the PIAA Class A Western Final, and of the BG football team, which advanced to the District 6 Class A title game.

Recognition of Bailey Swogger (Bellwood-Antis) and Jordyn Swogger (Tyrone) on their accomplishment of joining the 1,000-point club in girls basketball.