Backyard Beats

CD Release Events This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 16 through Thursday, Feb. 22. Among the activities happening on area live music stages this weekend are two shows celebrating the releases of new CD's by local bands and artists. ...

Have a Heart for Live Music This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 9 through Thursday, Feb. 15. With Valentine's Day happening on Wednesday, February 14, the area music scene offers up several Valentine's Day-themed dances and events over the next few days. So ...

Josh Returns, Cabin Fever, Petty Crime and Jane Lee Hooker!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 26 through Thursday, Feb. 1. This weekend and upcoming week promise to be busy on the area music scene, with several notable events and plenty of action on local stages. Josh Gallagher returns to ...

Feel the Heat with Winter Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 19 through Thursday, Jan. 25. One of this weekend's highlights blends live music with a tasty variety of chilis and soups. The fifth annual "Feel the Heat Chili & Soup Cookoff" takes place ...

Cure Cabin Fever with Live Music This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 12 through Thursday, Jan. 18. If you are already tired of being stuck in the house this winter season, the area live music scene offers some options this weekend to escape from your four walls and ...

Warm up with live

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 5 through Thursday, Jan. 11. Typically, the first weekend of the New Year, following the New Year's Day holiday, tends to be one of the slower weekends of the year for live music. But there is ...

Turning the Page…

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Dec. 29 through Thursday, Jan. 4. The page turns from 2017 into 2018, and live music will provide a backdrop for that transition, with plenty of New Year's Eve events on the schedule. One of the ...

‘Tis the Weekend Before Christmas…

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Dec. 22 through Thursday, Dec. 28. 'Tis the weekend before Christmas, and all through the town...Live music is stirring, and lots to go around! So as you settle down from the holiday shopping hustle ...

“The Gambler’s Last Deal” Visits Altoona This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Dec. 8 through Thursday, Dec. 14. A major highlight of this weekend's live music entertainment slate is the legendary Kenny Rogers coming to town to perform at the Jaffa Shrine on Friday evening. Now ...

Tis the Season for Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Dec. 1 through Thursday, Dec. 7. With the holiday season now under way, holiday season-themed shows, Toys for Tots benefits and other seasonal parties begin to show up on the live music slate. So after ...

Sun King Warriors and a Salute to Ullr This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Nov. 24 through Thursday, Nov. 30. Although Thanksgiving Day is now in the rear view mirror, Thanksgiving weekend live music continues throughout the region, providing multiple options for getting ...

Patched Together, Bobaflex and Thanksgiving Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Nov. 17 through Thursday, Nov. 23. One of the largest annual benefit concerts makes its return this weekend, and live music will help usher in the Thanksgiving holiday in the coming week. The benefit ...

Trick Or Treat Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Oct. 27 through Thursday, Nov. 2. Halloween season is upon us, and lots of Halloween-themed parties and events take place throughout the area live music scene this weekend. See the listing below for the ...

Fall Fests’ Last Gasps and Halloween Around the Corner!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Oct. 20 through Thursday, Oct. 26. With colder fall temperatures starting to arrive, outdoor fall festival season is winding down, with a few more festival events taking place this weekend. And the ...

Festivus of Fall Festivals!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Oct. 13 through Thursday, Oct. 19. Outdoor fall festival season reaches its peak this weekend, with four prominent annual fall festival events transpiring through Sunday. Bedford's Fall Foliage ...

Hail the Spud!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Sept. 29 through Thursday, Oct. 5. Let the fall festivals begin! This weekend features two of the area's most anticipated fall season festivals, plus a first-time concert event. Spud worshippers will ...

Night Market, New Germany Arts & Crafts, Italian Food Festival This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Sept. 15 through Thursday, Sept. 21. The final official weekend of the Summer of 2017 features several festival and fair favorites, plus a special night market event. The Downtown Night Market event ...

Striking Chords, Sundance Head and Lots More This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Sept. 8 through Thursday, Sept. 14. With an early autumn "crisp" in the air, a number of special events featuring live music take place during this weekend and upcoming week. The sixth annual Striking ...

Rails and Ales, Pickin’ for Wishes and More This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Aug. 25 through Thursday, Aug. 31. As the Summer of 2017 enters its homestretch, several annual late summer season event favorites highlight the live music schedule for the next seven days. The annual ...

County Fair Season Continues!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Aug. 4 through Thursday, Aug. 10. County fair season continues, as the Clearfield County Fair reaches its climax this weekend with two marquee rock concerts, and the Huntingdon County Fair then takes ...