Backyard Beats

Motorcycles and Musical Madness!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the period of Wednesday, June 20 through Thursday, June 28. This will include all motorcycle weekend live music events for the inaugural Pennsylvania Roundhouse Rally in Altoona, Thunder In the Valley in Johnstown, Ebensburg Wheels ...

Final Flight, Eric Sager Tribute, Brew-Grass and Benefits This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, June 8 through Thursday, June 14. With the rise in summertime temperatures comes the rise in outdoor activity on the area music scene. And this weekend provides a lot of live music happenings, both ...

Alive at Five Kickoff, Great Eastern Arts Festival This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, June 1 through Thursday, June 7. The warm weather season continues to kick into gear, with several outdoor live music venues and events making their returns to action this weekend. Altoona's ...

Blair County Arts Festival Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, May 18 through Thursday, May 24. Another temporal marker as spring advances toward summer in this part of the world is the annual Blair County Arts Festival. The 51st edition of this event happens ...

Pints For Pets, Book Festival, BulletBoys Coming to Town!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, May 11 through Thursday, May 17. Among the most noteworthy live music events this weekend is the 11th annual Pints For Pets Brewfest, taking place on Saturday at People's Natural Gas Field. Per ...

Outdoor Festivals Are Here!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 27 through Thursday, May 3. As the calendar turns the corner from April to May, live music events and festivals are starting to head outdoors, with two major outdoor events happening this ...

Ivyside Off the Rails, A Final Flight, Uke Soiree This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 20 through Thursday, April 26. Among the notable live music events taking place this weekend is the second annual "Ivyside Off the Rails: Glow On" music and arts festival, happening Sunday evening ...

Not an Unlucky Weekend for Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 13 through Thursday, April 19. Don't let fears of bad luck on Friday the 13th curtail your plans to take in some live music on area stages this weekend, as there are fun events and noteworthy ...

Dropping a Grenade This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 6 through Thursday, April 12. Among live music highlights this weekend will be a CD-release show on Friday night at McGarvey's, as Altoona-based nu-metal/heavy rockers Hate Grenade pull the pin on ...

A Big D**n Band Coming to Town!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 23 through Thursday, March 29. Among the highlights during the coming week is a boisterous celebration of country blues and roots music coming to McGarvey's on Wednesday night. From the state of ...

St. Paddy’s Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 16 through Thursday, March 22. St. Patrick's Day is the dominant theme of this weekend, with plenty of St. Patrick's-themed parties and entertainment happening on area stages. And even if it isn't ...

Punk Lives and St. Patrick’s Fun Begins This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 9 through Thursday, March 15. Among the live music highlights during the next seven days are a punk rock celebration and some preliminary events to get you ready for next weekend's St. Patrick's ...

Canadian Rovers and the Return of a Former Misfit!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 2 through Thursday, March 8. Among the highlights during this weekend and upcoming week...If you seek to get an early musical start on the upcoming St. Patrick's Day festivus, McGarvey's will ...

Late February Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 23 through Thursday, March 1. For outdoor shows, in the event of inclement weather, please call or use social media to check ahead to make sure the show is still taking place, especially if ...

CD Release Events This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 16 through Thursday, Feb. 22. Among the activities happening on area live music stages this weekend are two shows celebrating the releases of new CD's by local bands and artists. ...

Have a Heart for Live Music This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 9 through Thursday, Feb. 15. With Valentine's Day happening on Wednesday, February 14, the area music scene offers up several Valentine's Day-themed dances and events over the next few days. So ...

Josh Returns, Cabin Fever, Petty Crime and Jane Lee Hooker!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 26 through Thursday, Feb. 1. This weekend and upcoming week promise to be busy on the area music scene, with several notable events and plenty of action on local stages. Josh Gallagher returns to ...

Feel the Heat with Winter Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 19 through Thursday, Jan. 25. One of this weekend's highlights blends live music with a tasty variety of chilis and soups. The fifth annual "Feel the Heat Chili & Soup Cookoff" takes place ...

Cure Cabin Fever with Live Music This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 12 through Thursday, Jan. 18. If you are already tired of being stuck in the house this winter season, the area live music scene offers some options this weekend to escape from your four walls and ...

Warm up with live

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, Jan. 5 through Thursday, Jan. 11. Typically, the first weekend of the New Year, following the New Year's Day holiday, tends to be one of the slower weekends of the year for live music. But there is ...