Backyard Beats

Concerts, Festivals and Punx For Pets!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, June 16 through Thursday, June 22. Father's Day weekend features plenty of live music, including outdoor and indoor concerts, festivals and other fun live music events. The Railroaders Museum hosts the ...

Festivals, Celebrations and Concerts Abound This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, June 9 through Thursday, June 15. Outdoor live music gets busier in coming days, with more festivals, concerts and other outdoor events featuring live music in the region. A few communities are ...

Memorial Day Weekend Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, May 26 through Thursday, June 2. The Memorial Day holiday weekend features several noteworthy live music events throughout the region. An Altoona area music scene all-star cast will bring to life "It ...

Blair County Arts Festival Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, May 19 through Thursday, May 25. The big highlight on this weekend's live music slate is the 50th annual Blair County Arts Festival, happening at Penn State Altoona on Friday and Saturday. This year's ...

Altoona In Bloom, Mother’s Day Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, May 12 through Thursday, May 18. Among the highlights during Mother's Day weekend is the inaugural Altoona In Bloom Street Fair, happening at downtown Altoona's Heritage Plaza on Friday evening and ...

Ukuleles, Strumbellas and an Agent In Chains This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 21 through Thursday, April 27. As the temperatures heat up with spring season, live music activity increases with some outdoor events now beginning to enter the picture. One of those events ...

Easter Weekend Live Music!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 14 through Thursday, April 20. The Easter holiday weekend features plenty of live music events, including an appearance by a prominent and legendary punk rock name. C.J. Ramone, who played bass ...

Good Grief! Live Music This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, April 7 through Thursday, April 13. Among the live music highlights during this weekend and upcoming week is a special video shoot event at McGarvey's on Friday night with rising local group Zach Wade ...

No April Foolin’ – Live Music Onstage This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 31 through Thursday, April 6. April 1 is traditionally the time of the year when folks prank co-workers, family and friends - yes, April Fool's Day. But the area music scene won't prank you this ...

Area Music Gets Its Irish Up!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 17 through Thursday, March 23. Besides a popular time of the year for wearing green attire, consuming green-colored food and drinks, and celebrating the Emerald Isle, St. Patrick's Day weekend is ...

Punk’s Not Dead in Altoona!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 10 through Thursday, March 16. Many music trends come and go, and rise and fall in popularity as times change. But some forms of music endure, and on the Altoona music scene, punk rock is one of ...

An Acoustic Weekend…

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, March 3 through Thursday, March 9. Acoustic music seems to be the prominent flavor on the area music scene for this weekend and upcoming week, as a number of acoustic-geared solo performers and groups ...

A Giant(s) Return…

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 17 through Thursday, February 23. Among the performers on area stages this weekend is a group that hasn't been as much a frequent flyer on area stages in the past year or two, the Giants Of ...

The Heart of Live Music Beats This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, February 10 through Thursday, February 16. With Valentine's Day happening on Tuesday, several Valentine's-themed live music happenings - including dances and dinners - take place in the coming ...

Homecoming with Josh This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, January 27 through Thursday, February 2. A major highlight of this weekend's live music slate is the area return of Cresson favorite son and country artist Josh Gallagher after his recent run on ...

Feeling the Heat in Bedford!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, January 20 through Thursday, January 26. One of the weekend's highlights happens in Bedford on Saturday, with the annual "Feel the Heat" Chili and Soup Cookoff. Seven downtown Bedford businesses ...

Looking for a Cabin Fever Cure This Weekend?

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, January 13 through Thursday, January 19. If you are seeking a cure to your cabin fever this weekend, numerous live music options are available on local and regional stages. Saturday night is ...

Happy New Year!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, December 30 through Thursday, January 5. This includes happenings for New Year's Eve. As we turn the page into the New Year, there are a number of live music events to help get us there. One of ...

Return of The Lampshades and Other “Winter Noise” This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, December 2 through Thursday, December 8. Among the highlights of live music in the Altoona area during the next seven days is the return of indie-rockers The Lampshades to the Altoona area. They ...

Patched Together, Thanksgiving Live Music!

Below is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, November 18 through Thursday, November 24. One  big highlight of this weekend's live music slate is the sixth annual "Patched Together: A Day Of Music for the Healing Patch." This year's event ...